Marathon blog Number 8

15 Jun

Image

14/05/12 

In the last few weeks I have experienced many miles… long, short, painful and pleasing. Some on my feet, some in my car. All ticking the right box so far! Oh my, I’m a poet and I don’t know it! I wish I could speak in rhyme all the time! 

I met Tony Audenshaw… really nice guy, 
We had a wee drink, In a pub, it was dry. 
We posed for some photos, out on the trail, 
we even even agreed to talk by email. 

Tony ran Manchester the very next day, 
He ran very quick, I do have to say! 
It was miserably cold, all through the race. 
but Tony was on form and kept up good pace. 

I ran over 26.2 miles twice in the last week. 
Thankfully I washed, or I really would reek! 
I lost a few toenails, big ones and all. 
I hope just to keep one, or else I might fall. 

I moved to the capital, land of Salt and Sauce, 
Been out on the hills, It’s covered in moss. 
Good for the training not to get in a rut, 
I’d better be careful not to slip right up. 

I’ve never been a fan of Edinburgh City, 
In fact if I’m honest, I thought it was s#itty. 
I met someone sexy on last Friday night, 
I just changed my opinion to one of delight! 

I bid you farewell, I need to go drinking. 
But before I go, I have just been thinking… 
You people amaze me with your kind donations, 
I may even thank you with silly flirtations! 

I promise, no rhyming in the next edition!!! Will do a proper blog soon. 

2 Responses to “Marathon blog Number 8”

  1. Sarah June 15, 2012 at 7:32 pm #

    You should write a poem about each of your runs!

    • jimdrum June 15, 2012 at 7:35 pm #

      Maybe if I did, I’d get good at it! 😀

Leave a Reply

